UM1320: Dances for Harp

Cover image Dances for harp
Rodney Sharman
Contents: Suite in 3 Movements
Suspended Waltz - Tango? - Bolero
Instrumentation: Pedal Harp
Level: Intermediate/Advanced
Format: 8.5" x 11" stapled score
ISMN: 9790706052380
Publisher: The Avondale Press
Edition/Year: 2002
Origin: Canada
Our Ref: UM1320

Buy this music now £11.00 +p&p

Other music by Rodney Sharman

Composer's Notes

Dances for harp
Rodney Sharman

Composer's note for Dances:

Dances (2004) is a piece for solo harp in three movements commissioned by Rita Costanzi through the British Columbia Arts Council. The first, Suspended Waltz, is music adapted from my chamber opera, Elsewhereless, at Ms Costanzi's suggestion. The second, Tango?, is a sultry dance with an extra foot, giving five beats to the bar instead of the usual four. Bolero is the newest of the set, and like all the Dances, inspired by Ms Constanzi and dedicated to her with affection and admiration.

Performers are welcome to excerpt the movements to perform as separate pieces.

Cover photo: Oregon Ballet Theatre in "Hush" choreographed by James Kudelka to music by Rodney Sharman

Sample Page

Sample Page