UM0132 6 suites for harp - Volume 1

Cover image 6 suites for harp original for solo cello
Volume 1
JS Bach
Transcribed for harp by Sabine Chefson
Contents: Suite I - BWV 1007
Suite II - BWV 1008
Instrumentation: Pedal Harp
Level: Intermediate
Format: 230 x 305mm score
ISMN: 9790043085171
Publisher: Gerard Billaudot GB8517
Series Collection Anne Ricquebourg
Edition/Year: 2008
Origin: France
Our Ref: UM0132


Buy this music now £11.30 +p&p

Other music by JS Bach


CONTENTS - Volume 1

Suite I BWV 1007 (14 mn)

Prelude (2mn)
Allemande (3mn 40s)
Courante (2mn 15s)
Sarabande (2mn 40s)
Menuet 1 (1mn)
Menuet 2 (1mn)
Gigue (1m 20s)

Suite II BWV 1008 (18mn 15s)

Prelude (3mn)
Allemande (3mn)
Courante (4mn)
Sarabande (4mn)
Menuet 1 (1mn)
Menuet 2 (1mn)
Gigue (2mn 15s)



A cellist's treasure, Bach's Six Cello Suites prove just as fascinating for other instruments. Hence the many versions for flute, clarinet, trombone, marimba, guitar, theorbo...

While it is judicious to play the Suites on a monodic instrument, it is much more difficult to transcribe them for a polyphonic one. The harmony is so well integrated in Bach's writing that to add anything to his music seems criminal.

Yet I ventured to do so, for the sheer pleasure of being able to play these masterpieces and do them justice.

The original text being too low for harp, I transposed it up one octave and decided to add an occasional bass note when necessary to give it more body. I have tried to render the subtle bowing, articulation and fullness of the cello while bringing out the harp.

My approach is quite different from Marcel Grandjany's on Bach's violin Sonatas and Partitas. Like cellists, harpists must always think about phrasing, legato and tempo in order to build up their own interpretation. A quest without end...

I wish to thank Roger Boutry for his precious advice, artistic contribution and friendly support.


Sample Page

Sample Page