SM0211: Serie del Angel

Cover image Serie del Angel (Angel Series)
Astor Piazzolla
Arranged for harp by Maria Luisa Rayan-Forero
Contents: 3 Harp Solos (see contents)
Instrumentation: Pedal Harp
Level: Intermediate/Advanced
Format: 9" x 12" stapled score
ISMN: --
Publisher: Lyon & Healy Publications
Series --
Edition/Year: 2008
Origin: USA
Our Ref: SM0211
Buy this music now £15.00 +p&p
Other music by Maria Luisa Rayan-Forero
Other Piazzolla music arranged for harp


Serie del Angel (Angel Series)
Astor Piazzolla
Arranged for harp by Maria Luisa Rayan-Forero


Milonga del Angel (Dance of the Angel)
La Muerte del Angel (The Death of the Angel)
Resurreccion del Angel (Resurrection of the Angel)


"Since the publication of Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (Four Seasons), my first published arrangement of the music of Astor Piazzolla, I have received many requests for other arrangements of his music…Serie del Angel was written as part of an intended stage play called Tango del Angel, by Argentinean playwright Alberto Rodríguez Muñoz, in which an angel heals the spirits of the residents of an impoverished neighborhood of Buenos Aires. Piazzolla’s Serie del Angel comprises three movements, Milonga del Angel (1965) (Dance of the Angel), La Muerte del Angel (1962) (Death of the Angel) and Resurrección del Angel (1965) (Resurrection of the Angel). These pieces, as is the case of Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas, were intended as a cycle or series, though composed over the span of a few years and not together. As with any of his series, they can be played as a cycle or each piece on its own… Each movement in the series is a reflection of its title and is deeply emotionally charged. Milonga del Angel is one of the most lyrical pieces ever written in music, while Muerte del Angel brings rage and violence into the score. Resurrección del Angel brings again the lyricism present in the first movement, though this time is in a more wistful manner…”

— M. L. Rayan

Sample Page

Sample Page