FM1119: Spirals

Spirals (for solo harp)
Paul Patterson
Edited by Sioned Wiliams

Cover ImageSpirals Opus 115
Twists and Turns

Commissioned by Sioned Williams for her 60th Birthday


Buy this music now    Score: £12.95 + p&p   

Paul Patterson: Profile & Catalogue of works


SPIRALS Opus 115 (2013)
Decade; Reflection; Twists and Turns; Humoresque; Twirls; Cascades

Inspired by the title, Sioned Williams chose to name a musical celebration of her sixth decade, ‘Sioned’s Spiralling Sixtieth’. Patterson’s six-part piece is based on the musical notes D, E, C, A, D, E. The work is a set of varied ‘spirals’ each representing a decade of Sioned’s life, exploring different musical and technical elements including some effects such as harmonics, nail and pedal glissandi, and soundboard knocks. Incorporated in both the reflective, as well as the more up-beat and humorous movements, are patterns of notes which also provide visual spirals of arm and hand movements. Spirals captures elements of a diverse personality and is a celebratory gift for Sioned’s 60th birthday.

Decade makes a bold start, followed by Reflection, which features gentle bisbigliando and delicate scales. In Twists and Turns a melody mingles with glissandos spiralling up and down the harp. The quirky and light hearted Humoresque follows, brought to life with harmonics and soundboard knocks, before gentle chordal arpeggios infuse the slow and thoughtful Twirls. Cascades is a virtuosic display of rhythmic snippets amid visually exciting spirals, providing an upbeat finale.

World premiere by Sioned Williams at the Royal Dublin Society, Ireland on 20th June 2013

Score Information

Title: Spirals Opus 115
for solo harp
Works: Decade
Twists and Turns
Composer/Arranger: Paul Patterson
Instrumentation: Pedal Harp
Level: Advanced
Duration: c 10 minutes
Format: 9" x 12" Stapled Score
Publisher: Josef Weinberger
ISBN: 979-0-57005-709-2
Edition/Year: 2014
Origin: UK
Our Ref: FM1119

Sample Page

Sample Page