FM1101: Lizards

Lizards (for solo harp)
Paul Patterson

Cover ImageLizards Opus 111
I Changing Chameleon
II Leaping Lizard

Commissioned as the set piece for the 2nd Thailand International Harp Festival and Youth Competition 2012.


Buy this music now    Score: £12.95 + p&p   

Paul Patterson: Profile & Catalogue of works


LIZARDS  Opus 111

Lizards may be viewed as a sequel to Paul Patterson's earlier solo harp pieces, Spiders(1985) and Bugs(2003) which have become widely known to harpist around world.

At the request of the commissioners Patterson has written a work that is designed to introduce young performers to different types of contemporary harp techniques. These include pedal pitch bends, rapid bisbigliando effects, playing with the nails, tapping the sound board and sliding hands up the metal strings!

It is in two movements that are joined together. The slow first movement is very atmospheric and is called the “Changing Chameleon”. After a dramatic opening the slow mysterious moving environment explores the use of different types of spread chords and a variety of glissandos that change in speed and colour, and alternates with shimmering tremolos and harmonics. The melodic line incorporates pitches from Thailand’s national anthem. Note in Bar 8 of the Chameleon: the way this is played is up to the discretion of the performer provided the melody is always clear.

The vigorous second movement “Leaping Lizards” as the title implies is a humorous light hearted movement where the first four notes of the national anthem are totally transformed, and manipulated in an exotic manner using cannons, inversions and jazzy pedal glissandos. After a number of rhythmic sections with numerous cross rhythms the relentless energy builds to a huge climax that ends the work with intense virtuosity.

Score Information

Title: Lizards
for solo harp
Composer/Arranger: Paul Patterson
Instrumentation: Pedal Harp
Level: Advanced
Duration: 4' 30"
Format: Stapled
Size: 9" x 12"
ISBN: M-57005-691-0
Our Ref: FM1101
Publisher: Josef Weinberger
Edition/Year: 2012
Origin: UK

Sample Page

Sample Page