f u

DW0016: Sonata in C No. IV

Cover Image

The David Watkins Collection VOLUME XVI
Johann Sebastian Bach
for Flute or Violin and Harp
(with pedals - single or double action)
Arranged by David Watkins

His extraordinary output of choral and instrumental music embraced both his humanity and his intellectual genius. As with Handel, his instrumental suites include dance movements of the period.

This Sonata is for the flute or the violin with keyboard accompaniment which also sounds well on the harp. I have eliminated the last largo and minuet; they are rather weak endings for concert performance.

Between the Andante - Presto and the brilliant Allegro, I have inserted a beautiful Siciliano stolen from another Sonata (4S1017). Both Bach and Handel transposed movements between their compositions and I am confident that he would have approved of this one! It is a paraphrase both in musical and emotional terms of the aria "Erbarme dich" from the St Matthew Passion. I have accompanied the great violinist, Michael Bochmann, in concert performances both on the single and double action harps.

The printed phrase marks and dynamics are only a guide for a musical performance. In Bach’s day the dynamics would be more “terraced” and more contrast between “piano” and “forte.” The performer must feel free to choose!

Professor David Watkins

Buy this music now £10.00 +p&p

Index of scores & recordings by David Watkins


Cover Image


Sample Page

Sample Page

Library Information

Series: The David Watkins Collection
Volume XVI
Title: Sonata in C minor   No. IV
Bach III No. 4
Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Arranged by: David Watkins
Instrumentation: Flute or Violin & Harp (with pedals - single or double action)
Performance time: Approx. 8' 50"
Level: Medium-Difficult
Printed Parts: A4 stapled score and part
Weight: 120g
Our Ref: DW016
ISMN: 979-0-57046-052-6
Publisher: David Watkins / Creighton's Collection
Edition/Year: Published March 2012
Origin: Wales, UK