JM54SC: Cello Addiction

Cover Image Cello Addiction
for Four Cellos (or Cello Orchestra)
Composer: David Johnstone
Instrumentation: Four Cellos or Cello Orchestra
Duration: Performance time approx. 8' 30"
Cat. No: JM54SC
Edition / Format: 2007 A4 Score & Extractions (instrumental parts)
Price: Conductor Score + Set of Parts £15.00
(Additional Instrumental Parts available for Cello Orchestra as required at £1.00 each)

Sound Samples


for Four Cellos (or Cello Orchestra)

The 'Cello Addiction' is the ultimate virtuoso concert finale to any cello ensemble programme! It makes an ideal small set when performed after the piece 'Cello Company' by the same composer (and also available from Creighton's Collection'). Both pieces are conceived for four individual soloists, but work almost equally convincingly when played by an entire 'cello orchestra'. Cello Addiction is a new kind of potpourri, covering almost the history of classical music in just over eight minutes; indeed, some of the theme references are placed simultaneously. Other themes well overlap, whilst yet others pay special attention to the masterworks of the cello repertoire! All instruments have interesting parts, taking it in turns to shine in moments of lyrical glory! In this sense there are no real first, second cello etc. as all are considered equal partners in the search for musical brilliance and outstanding cello techniques!


Music Score Preparation by Carlos Ariel Gracia Baez
Front Cover Illustration by Iván Simón
Dedicated to Kevin Johnstone Yáñez

Front Cover (larger image)

Front cover

Sample page from score

Sample Pages

Sample Page

Sample page

Library Information

Full Title: Cello Addiction
Composer: David Johnstone
Instrumentation: Four Cellos or Cello Orchestra
Printed Parts: Conductors Score, Instrumental players parts - Cello I, Cello II, Cello III, Cello IV
Format: Soft back, Stapled (all)
Size: A4 (all)
Music Pages: 36 - Conductors score, 6/7 - Instrumental parts
Weight: 260g -Score and set of parts
Our Ref: JM54SC
Publisher: Co production: Johnstone Music / Creighton's Collection
Edition/Year: First edition, 2007
Origin: UK