f u

Adlais 218: Trio in G

Cover Image

Trio in G
after the String Quartet KV 80 (1770)

WA Mozart
Arranged Derek Smith

Duration c. 12' 48" minutes
For Flute, Viola & Harp
with optional violin part to replace viola for school ensembles
Catalogue No. Adlais 214
ISMN 979-0-57032-237-4 (score & set of parts)
Edition Date 2016
Score Format Score & three instrumental parts - A4 Stapled
with optional violin part to replace viola for school ensembles
Suitable for Intermediate Trio
Buy this music now £16.00 +p&p
click here for further works by WA Mozart
click here for further works by Derek Smith

Further Information

MOZART arr. DEREK SMITH: Trio in G after the String Quartet KV 80 (1770)

The long and noble history of the harp and its music notwithstanding, there is still a lack of classical ensemble pieces to share the honours with so many masterpieces of recent years. Following Debussy, an attractive configuration is the trio which conjoins the harp with flute and viola to yield gratifying sonorities.

In quartet form, KV80 barely scrapes into the volume of “little Mozarts” when there are so many of his great works in the genre from which to choose. As an amateur cellist I have never played it; neither does it figure in most professional programmes. This is because the young Mozart writes largely in one or two melodic parts plus accompaniment, whereas we have become spoiled by the great quartets in which the four parts are of equal thematic and contrapuntal interest. However, this apparent weakness of this Quartet has proved a source of strength for my Trio.

While a gentle introductory work in a chamber concert, popular with audiences, the piece as here arranged is easy enough for use in schools wherein violin may be substituted for the viola and piano (or, better, harpsichord) for the harp. It is suggested that any performance should respect Mozart’s repeats, lest ‘gossamer' should fade into ‘insubstantial’.

Derek Smith


Front cover image: Red Earth and Pink by Catherine Baker
40 x 32cm Acrylic, water-based oil and pencil on board (2011)

Adlais Music Publishers are very grateful to Catherine Baker for her kind permission to use this image of her painting “Red Earth and Pink” on the front cover of this score.

“This painting was inspired by the memory of one time, when in a dead-end job, I saw from my window two cherry trees bending with the wind, discharging such a blizzard of pink blossom that it was soon almost gone. An ephemeral moment of beauty and energy.”

Catherine Baker

Sample Page

Sample of the music